Cobb County Tax Commissioners Office

close icon
alert icon Important Information

It’s the start of a new month so you may experience longer than normal wait times.
Check wait times here. Save time and go online.

New Residents

Welcome to Cobb County! We’re glad you chose the best county in Georgia to call home. This page is a great resource to learn about some key things you need to do first as a new resident. But first, here’s some information about who we are:

The Tax Commissioner’s Office is established by the Georgia Constitution, and is responsible for every phase of collecting and disbursing ad valorem property taxes.  Our staff is separated into two divisions:

Property Division bills, collects and distributes ad valorem property taxes for real, personal property, heavy duty equipment, mobile homes and public utilities.  In addition, this division processes homestead exemptions and conducts tax sales.  They are also responsible for preparing the tax digest each year.

Motor Vehicle Division serves as a tag agent on behalf of the Georgia Department of Revenue.  They collect and distribute ad valorem property taxes for vehicles as well as enforce local laws for registration requirements, insurance, emissions and mobile home ownership.

The Board of Tax Assessors (BTA) determines property values as well as maintains property ownership records for tax purposes.  The BTA is appointed by the Board of Commissioners and is not under the authority of the Tax Commissioner.

We collect the following taxes:

  • Real Property
  • Personal Property
  • Mobile Homes
  • Motor Vehicles
  • Heavy Duty Equipment
  • Public Utilities
  • Timber

What do I do first?

New to the County?

When moving from another county within Georgia to Cobb, the first thing you’ll want to do is change your address. For efficient transactions with our offices, we recommend you make your address changes in the following order:

  • US Post Office
    Many transactions throughout the county require mail with your new address in order to update our records.
     
  • Driver’s License
    Your driver’s license needs to be updated within 60 days of moving to your new address.  The Department of Driver’s Services offers one free address change for each license term.
     
  • Vehicle Registration
    You will need to provide acceptable proof of residency at your current address or your updated GA Driver’s license to complete your address change. You can complete this online address change form.  When you change the primary address on your registration, you may keep your old address as a mailing address.

    Your plate will remain the same, though we will give you a new gray decal to replace your old county information. If you would like to use or keep your “In God We Trust” decal, just let our clerks know during the registration process.
  • Homestead Exemptions
    If you had exemptions in another county or state, provide a letter stating those exemptions were removed before applying for Cobb County exemptions.

    Applications must be U. S. postmarked or received by April 1 to receive the exemption for that tax year.  Applications not received by the April 1 deadline are processed for the following year.  We do not accept metered or kiosk postmarks as proof of timely mailing.

What is different about Cobb?

In Cobb County, all gasoline-fueled vehicles 3 years old to 24 years old and less than 8500 lbs gross vehicle weight require an emission inspection each year.

Our county also offers a number of homestead exemption options (such as full exemption from school taxes for seniors 62 years and older) as well as a lower millage rate compared to our neighboring counties.

Additionally, we have some of the lowest millage rates in the metro Atlanta area.


New to Georgia?

If you are moving from another state or country to Georgia, there are a few transitions you’ll need to make. For efficient transactions with our offices, we recommend you do these in the following order:

  1. US Post Office
    Many transactions throughout the county require mail with your new address in order to update our records.
     
  2. Georgia Driver’s License
    Your driver’s license needs to be transferred within 60 days of moving to Georgia.  To change your license, you typically need the following: 
    a.  Your driver’s license from your previous state
    b.  Proof of your new address
    c.  Primary identification
    d.  Proof of a Social Security Number
    e.  A complete paper trail of all name changes

    Visit www.dds.ga.gov for more information.
     
  3. Vehicle Registration
    Your vehicle title, registration, plate and insurance need to be changed to Georgia within 30 days of moving.  For most transfers, you will need:
    a.  Your Georgia Driver’s License
    b.  A Georgia insurance policy
    c.  A Georgia emission inspection (if applicable)
    d.  Proof of name change (if different from your title)
    e.  All owners of the vehicle present or a Power of Attorney for those who are not
    f.  Funds for the 3% Title Ad Valorem Tax payment
     
  4. Homestead Exemptions
    If you had exemptions in another county or state, provide a letter stating those exemptions were removed before applying for Cobb County exemptions.

    Applications must be U. S. postmarked or received by April 1 to receive the exemption for that tax year.  Applications not received by the April 1 deadline are processed for the following year.  We do not accept metered or kiosk postmarks as proof of timely mailing.

Motor Vehicles

How do I register?
When you purchase, lease or move a vehicle to Georgia, you must title your vehicle within 30 days.  You are charged late fees if you title your vehicle over 30 days from your purchase or move in date. 

When you first title your vehicle, a Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) of 3% is paid at the time of initial registration in Georgia.  This is a one-time tax that is a percentage of the retail or assessed value of the vehicle.

What do I need for to Register or Renew?
You will most likely need the title to your vehicle.  However, we recommend you read about titling your vehicle first to determine if this is the case and what you will need to do so.

For your registration itself, all registrations and renewals require current, valid insurance submitted electronically by your insurance company.  If you have fleet or self-insurance, you will need to mail your renewal or come in person.  Do not forget to bring or send a copy of your card when you do.

All vehicles 3 years old to 24 years old and less than 8500 lbs. gross vehicle weight require an emission inspection each year.  If your vehicle does not need an emission inspection due to gross vehicle weight, you will need to mail your renewal or come in person.

If you are renewing in person, you need your Georgia Driver’s License or ID with you in addition to the above items.

When do I renew my decal?

For individuals:
Every year, your registration expires at midnight on your birthday or the birthday of the first owner/lessee on the title.  If you lease your vehicle, your registration expires on the first lessee’s birthday.

For businesses:
Your registration expires on the last day of the month based on first letter of your company’s name.

Renew in person, by mail, or online:
Motor Vehicle Division
P.O. Box 100128
Marietta, GA 30061


Property Taxes

When do I pay my taxes?
We mail tax bills each year by August 15 to the January 1 owner.  Your payment is due by October 15.  Your payment must be U.S. postmarked or received by the deadline.  We do not accept metered or kiosk postmarks as proof of timely mailing. 

 

To qualify for exemptions:

You must apply for each county or state exemption you are eligible for with the Cobb County Tax Commissioner’s Office. 

All qualifications must be met as of January 1 of the year the application is made.  You must own, occupy and claim the property as your legal residence on January 1 of the year the application is made.

Applications are accepted in person or by mail.  Applications must be U. S. postmarked or received by April 1 to receive the exemption for that tax year.  Applications not received by the April 1 deadline are processed for the following year.  We do not accept metered or kiosk postmarks as proof of timely mailing.

Residents of a city living within the city limits must apply for city exemptions directly within the appropriate city tax office.

 

Our most common exemptions:

  • $10,000 Basic Homestead Exemption
    Valued at $262.40 in previous years 
    Includes $2,000 exemption in the state tax category
     
  • Age 62 School Tax Exemption
    Exempt from all county school taxes
     
  • Age 65 $4,000 Exemption
    ($10,000 income limitation)
     
  • Age 65 Senior Citizens Exemption
    Exempt from all state property taxes on residence and up to 10 acres surrounding the residence

   More exemption types can be found on our exemption type information page.